Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cath Drake hosts “Adventures in Villanelles” with Mimi Khalvati

November 24 @ 9:00 am - 11:00 am

mimi khalvati

Not from the TV series, Killing Eve. But better. Join Australian poet Cath Drake and award-winning Iranian-born British poet Mimi Khalvati for an exciting exploration of the villanelle poetic form in a one-and-a-half-hour interactive seminar/masterclass.

As Mimi says, the villanelle is obsessive, circling but with a clear melodic line, presenting a challenge to poets undaunted by its unique demands and keen to enjoy the surprises it offers. How does this poetic form reveal itself in the 2020s?

Part of the UK/Australia Season 2021-22.

Timing and Cost

9am UK // 5pm Perth Australia // Adelaide 7.30pm // Brisbane 7pm // Sydney 8pm // Darwin 6.30pm

Cost £25GBP (it fluctuates a little right now but, under $50AUD with cost effective exchange via STRIPE)

Maximum 22 people

Online on Zoom

About Mimi Khalvati

Mimi Khalvati was born in Tehran, Iran, and has lived most of her life in London. She has published nine collections with Carcanet Press, including The Meanest Flower, shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize 2007, Child: New and Selected Poems 1991-2011, a Poetry Book Society Special Commendation, and The Weather Wheel, a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and a book of the year in The Independent. Her latest book is Afterwardness (2019), a collection of gorgeous sonnets awarded a Poetry Book Society Wild Card and a Sunday Times Book of the Year.

Her pamphlet, Earthshine (Smith/Dorstop Books 2013) was a Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice and her Very Selected Poems appeared from Smith/Doorstop in 2017. Her awards include a Cholmondeley Award from the Society of Authors, a major Arts Council Writer’s Award, and she is the founder of the Poetry School, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and of The English Society. Mimi has mentored countless prize-winners in the UK and is thought of by many high profile poets as simply the poetry teacher today.

BOOK TICKETS HERE

Details

Date:
November 24
Time:
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , ,

Venue

Online