Search
Close this search box.
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Orphia and Eurydicius by Elyse John – UK publication

March 28 @ 8:00 am - April 28 @ 5:00 pm

oprhia and eurydicius by elyse john

Exciting new Australian author Elyse John’s beautiful and heartfelt Greek myth retelling, Orphia and Eurydicius, will be published in the UK on 28 March. The book is dedicated to Elyse’s late brother. She explores grief with poetry and honesty – a truly healing story and an essential read for lovers of Greek Myth retellings.

About the book

The stunning, gender-flipped novel about love, creativity and the power of speaking out – perfect for fans of Madeline Miller, Pat Barker and Natalia Haynes.

Their love transcends every boundary. Can it cheat death?

Orphia dreams of something more than the warrior crafts she’s been forced to learn. Hidden away on a far-flung island, her blood sings with poetry and her words can move flowers to bloom and forests to grow … but her father, the sun god Apollo, has forbidden her this art.

A chance meeting with a young shield-maker, Eurydicius, gives her the courage to use her voice. After wielding all her gifts to defeat one final champion, Orphia draws the scrutiny of the gods. Performing her poetry, she wins the protection of the goddesses of the arts: the powerful Muses, who welcome her to their sanctuary on Mount Parnassus. Orphia learns to hone her talents, crafting words of magic infused with history, love and tragedy.

When Eurydicius joins her, Orphia struggles with her desire for fame and her budding love. As her bond with the gentle shield-maker grows, she joins the Argonauts on their quest for the Golden Fleece. Facing dragons, sirens and ruthless warriors on the voyage, Orphia earns unparalleled fame, but she longs to return to Eurydicius.

Yet she has a darker journey to make – one which will see her fight for her love with all the power of her poetry.

About the author

Elyse John is a writer and a poet. She studied literature, writing and French at university, completing a PhD. Her poetry nominations include the Pushcart Prize and several major Australian prizes. She has published a collection of poetry and her poems feature in journals in Australia, Europe, and Japan. Inspired by her late brother, she creates work in his memory. She lives in Melbourne, Australia.

Click here to listen to FANZA’s exclusive interview with the author

Details

Start:
March 28 @ 8:00 am
End:
April 28 @ 5:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

Be the first to know

Subscribe to get the latest news and events updates from FANZA