Close this search box.

Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason serialised on BBC Radio 4

Share Article

Sorrow and Bliss, the critically acclaimed debut novel by New Zealand author Meg Mason, is being serialised this week as BBC Radio 4’s Book of the Week..

Published last year and recently listed in The Times as ‘one of the best books of 2021’, it tackles the issue of long-term mental illness with wit and candour. The author takes an empathetic look at the condition through the experiences of a middle-aged woman who has struggled to find contentment in her adult life.

‘The most wonderful, heartbreakingly gorgeous novel of the year.’
– Elizabeth Day, author of Magpie

Catch up on the episodes on BBC iPlayer here.

related posts


The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay

(Published by Two Roads, paperback, January 2018) ‘Exquisitely written and deeply felt … a true book of wonders.’ Geraldine Brooks, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of YEAR OF