Close this search box.

Tait Memorial Trust announces winners of the Leanne Benjamin Awards

Share Article

The Tait Memorial Trust is thrilled to announce the recipients of this year’s ballet awards.

The recipients are dancers from Australia and New Zealand who study at the Royal Ballet School, English National Ballet School, Elmhurst Ballet School and Rambert Ballet School of Ballet & Contemporary Dance .

The accolades are awarded under the Tait’s Leanne Benjamin Awards scheme, with the top accolade, the Richard Bonynge Award, going to a young ballet dancer from Australia or New Zealand studying at The Royal Ballet School.

This year, the Ballet Board – Leanne Benjamin AM OBE, Meredith Daneman, and Isla Baring OAM, Chairman, Tait Memorial Trust – has conferred the 2023 Richard Bonynge Award to Jules Chastre, a third-year student at The Royal Ballet School.

In 2021, Liberty Fergus (ACT) was the first recipient; the award went towards her fees at the Upper School of the RBS. The Tait Memorial Trust continued with their RB award for her second year, with the generous  support from Richard himself, Lady Anya Sainsbury CBE (The Linbury Trust ), David Norman and The Tait Memorial Trust. This year they have managed to increase the funds they award for ballet.

The list of their 2023 Leanne Benjamin Award recipients:

related posts


The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay

(Published by Two Roads, paperback, January 2018) ‘Exquisitely written and deeply felt … a true book of wonders.’ Geraldine Brooks, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of YEAR OF