Close this search box.

Three masterpieces by Australian novelist Helen Garner hit UK bookshelves

Share Article

Three masterpieces by the legendary Australian author Helen Garner have been published in the UK to great fanfare. Garner has been a literary institution in Australia for decades. The Atlantic dubbed her ‘the Joan Didion of Australia.’ Now, she’s making waves in the UK with three stunning new editions of her modern-classic works, perfect for long-time fans and new devotees alike.

Monkey Grip
With an introduction by Lauren Groff

Garner’s radical, trailblazing debut novel about a young single mother’s doomed love affair set in the communal households of late ‘70s Melbourne. When first published in 1977, its honest depiction of love, sex and drugs caused a scandal; it has since been selected as one of the BBC’s 100 Stories that Shaped the World and is acclaimed as a literary classic.

‘Seductive as hell. Brilliant, unusual, breathtaking’

The Children’s Bach
With an introduction by David Nicholls

Hailed as one of only ‘four perfect short novels in the English language’, The Children’s Bach chronicles the steady unravelling of a seemingly happy family in 1980s suburban Melbourne, in exquisite prose.

‘A jewel. Beautiful, lapidary, rare’

This House of Grief
With an introduction by Rachel Cooke

A true crime classic and literary masterwork, picked as one of the Guardian’s 100 Best Books of the 21st century, about a father suspected of murdering his three sons and the ensuing trial that gripped a nation.

‘Powerful and unforgettable. It bears comparison with In Cold Blood’

‘You always remember where you were when you read your first Helen Garner and you always regret it has taken you so much time to get to her.’

Find out more here.

related posts


The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay

(Published by Two Roads, paperback, January 2018) ‘Exquisitely written and deeply felt … a true book of wonders.’ Geraldine Brooks, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of YEAR OF